Let's set the scene. A D-III game last night, between No. 2 Amherst and No. 3 Middlebury. The second overtime, and Amherst is down three. Guard Willy Workman tried a desperation three, but he's fouled—only the ref rules the foul came before the shot.

With 1.8 seconds left, Workman makes his first free throw. Now down two, he has to intentionally miss the second shot, but still at least hit the rim, then pray for a rebound and a quick bucket. He does it all himself: hurling a line drive that kisses the rim before bouncing off the glass, right to a streaking Workman who puts it in for the tie. Amherst would go on to win in triple overtime.

So, should you foul when up three? The intentionally missed free throw is incredibly difficult to pull off, but at the same time, the ref would've been within his rights to award Amherst three foul shots. The debate continues.

[D3Hoops.com]
H/t Daniel