Did Wil Myers Blow This Play, Or Was He The Victim Of Gamesmanship?

Here's Rays outfielder Wil Myers, in the fourth inning of today's playoff game against the Red Sox, doing God knows what.

The play resulted in a ground rule double for David Ortiz, and sparked a five-run inning for the Sox, much to the delight of these two dorks:

Did Wil Myers Blow This Play, Or Was He The Victim Of Gamesmanship?

Either Myers decided to Bartleby this play for unknown reasons, or he was "called off" by someone in the Red Sox bullpen. We kind of hope that it's the latter, because we are all for baseball players doing things that will undoubtedly annoy curmudgeonly sportswriters.