The Mid-American Conference has suspended the officiating crew that botched what should have been the final play of Saturday’s Central Michigan-Oklahoma State game, giving the Chippewas a final, untimed down on which they scored a spectacular game-winning touchdown.
Officials declared CMU deserved an untimed down after Cowboys quarterback Mason Rudolph threw the ball away on fourth down to waste the final four seconds remaining in the game. Rudolph drew an intentional grounding penalty, and officials ruled that was a condition that could not end a game. The rulebook provides an exception under those conditions for loss-of-down penalties, though, like intentional grounding. Chippewas quarterback Cooper Rush used the untimed down to throw a desperation heave to Jesse Kroll, who lateraled to Corey Willis for the game-winning touchdown.
The MAC suspended the officiating crew two weeks for their blunder, while the Big 12 suspended its replay crew and banned them from working a bowl game.