The bracket for the 2015 Name of the Year tournament has been released. We are ecstatic. Drew and Marchman will go through the contenders in next week's episode of the Deadcast. [NOTY] » 3/24/15 2:52pm 3/24/15 2:52pm

Name Of The Year 2014 Final: Shamus Beaglehole Vs. Chillie Poon

This is it. This is the showdown we've waited an entire year for (OK, more like five months). In one corner, we have Shamus Beaglehole: English footballer, #3 seed of the Sithole Regional, vanquisher of Curvaceous Bass and Dr. Loki Skylizard, and bearer of a last name that sounds like an old man's curmudgeonly insult.… » 4/11/14 10:57am 4/11/14 10:57am

2014 Name Of The Year: The Final Four

We're nearing the summit of this year's tourney, and the venerable spirits of Assumption Bulltron, Godfrey Sithole, Crescent Dragonwagon, and Doby Chrotchtangle have each found favor with a champion. These four, this exalted 16th of the starting field, are all that remain as our competition enters its final stages.… » 4/08/14 1:42pm 4/08/14 1:42pm

Name Of The Year 2014: The Elite Eight

We're down to just eight splendid name-inees, and we're happy to see each one of them picking up their own fan groups. The comments section has provided a thorough analysis to complement our own, and we hope to see more nuggets of brilliance as we approach the Final Four. » 4/04/14 3:40pm 4/04/14 3:40pm

2014 Name Of The Year: The Sweet 16

We had a polling malfunction last week: The Bulltron and Sithole polls inexplicably closed early. Our bad, and thanks for letting us know on Twitter so we could re-open them; we might not have caught the error otherwise. » 4/02/14 12:36pm 4/02/14 12:36pm

2014 Name of the Year: Round Two, And A Note On Middle Names

Before we get to the second round of our tournament, I'd like to share a tip we received from a reader named Jeffrey. Jeffrey is not himself a Name of the Year nominee, but he is a Brandeis alum familiar with Mingus Mapps, the Bulltron Regional's 8-seed and a Brandeis poli-sci professor. » 3/28/14 1:45pm 3/28/14 1:45pm

2014 Name of the Year: Dragonwagon and Chrotchtangle Regionals, Round 1

We love it when our name-inees display some competitive spirit, so we were thrilled to receive an email in that vein last night from Bulltron competitor Bernie Wagenblast. Here's what he had to say: » 3/26/14 4:00pm 3/26/14 4:00pm

2014 Name Of The Year: Bulltron And Sithole Regionals, Round 1

The 2014 Name of the Year tournament kicks off today in the quadrants named after Assumption Bulltron, crowned the first-ever Name of the Decade, and Godfrey Sithole, the 1985 Name of the Year champion. » 3/25/14 2:00pm 3/25/14 2:00pm

Presenting The 2014 Name Of The Year Bracket, A Shitavious Gruntfest

Name of the Year dates to the fall of 1982 and names taped to a dorm-room door on an Ivy campus: Dexter Manley, Cornelius Boza-Edwards, Baskerville Holmes. The following spring, Hector (Macho) Camacho was elected the first Name of the Year. What can we say? The first basketball baskets didn't have holes in the bottom.… » 3/21/14 3:15pm 3/21/14 3:15pm

Taco B.M. Monster Wins Name Of The Year

The votes are counted, the tallies tallied, and Dutch medical professional Taco B.M. Monster has been awarded the Name of the Year, beating out such luminaries as Commie Spead, Monsterville Horton IV, and Madz Negro. Next year's tournament starts "soonish." [NOTY] » 4/03/12 9:40am 4/03/12 9:40am

One Of These Two Men Will Win Name Of The Year

Courvoisier Winetavius Richardson. Taco B.M. Monster. Two men enter. Two men leave, but one wins a funny name internet contest. Vote now. [NOTY] » 3/15/12 3:55pm 3/15/12 3:55pm

The Name Of The Year Bracket Is Down To The Final Four

Yes, it's the 2011 bracket, and yes, it's taken a year. But life happens sometimes, you know? It's up to you, the voter, to decide whose name reigns supreme. Will it be Delorean Blow or Courvoisier Winetavius Richardson? Neptune Pringle III or Taco B.M. Monster? Vote now, because the 2012 tournament begins in like a… » 3/09/12 3:20pm 3/09/12 3:20pm

The Name Of The Year Bracket Is Out! Taco Monster Says NOM NOM NOM NOM

The Name of the Year Bracket has been released! Holy RexAchilles! That means it's time for Spencer Hall and I to formally go through the bracket in our annual Name of the Year podcast. You can listen here, or click the iTunes link to the show here. Quickly, let me take you through the top four seeds from each region: » 4/06/11 5:35pm 4/06/11 5:35pm

Free Nohjay Nimpson!

We're down to the Elite Eight in the always-excellent Name Of The Year tournament. So go cast your vote to ensure that Nohjay Nimpson and God's Power Offor continue on. [NOTY] » 5/13/10 5:15pm 5/13/10 5:15pm

Name Of The Year Bracket Released

Here it is, the final 64 Name of the Year nominees, and it's Nohjay Nimpson's tournament to lose. I'm just glad Dick Smallberries Sr.'s decision to pass on his name finally paid off. [NOTY] » 3/24/10 10:30pm 3/24/10 10:30pm