This image was lost some time after publication.

We might be the only person on earth who cares about this, but earlier, we wondered aloud how in the world a scorer — if you were, ahem, the type of dork who brings a scorebook to baseball games — would possibly handle that bizarre "double-play" during the Mets-Dodgers game. 2 Unassisted? 9-4-2? 9-4-2-2? 9-4-dumbass-Drew?

An official scorer actually writes in to "clear" up the matter for us:

I have trouble personally with the notion of calling such a play a "double play," since each player was being an idiot of their own accord. I would prefer to call it a single, out advancing 9-4-2 and out advancing 2 unassisted. But then I looked in my trusty rulebook, and 10.12 says that we have to credit participation in a double play any time two players are put out between the time a pitch is delivered and the time the ball next becomes dead, or is in possession of the pitcher in pitching position. So DP 9-4-2-2 it is. And Martin, although he would've reached 2nd easily anyway, can't be given a 2-base hit because of rule 10.07, which actually notes that you can't be awarded a double if a preceding runner on 1st gets thrown out at 3rd. It doesn't say anything about a runner on 2nd being thrown out at home, though I assume that rule holds true by extension.

OK, our head is spinning, and we love it. We eat this shit up, really.

Just A "Routine" Double Play [New York Daily News]

(UPDATE: A reader writes:

"I was in ESPN seats at the game, and Bob Ley was just down the row. He was scoring the game, so one of my friends asked him how that one went down in the books. I'm pretty sure he called it right, but alas that was quite early in the game and many aluminum Bud Light bottles were bought between then and the end of the seventh, so I can't say for certain ... But I know it was awfully reassuring at the time to get a definitive answer."


That Bob Ley keeps scores at games makes us like him a lot more.)

(SECOND UPDATE: From our scorer, to answer some commenter questions:

"Hey —-

I'm having trouble getting into my comments on the site, so I wanted to clarify a couple things commenters have asked about (and if you want to post it, fine. If not, that's fine too. It's just nice to know someone out there cares about this shit):

1) Whether you write 9-4-2 or 9-4-2-2 is not of particular consequence, just something I've picked up to make things more clear in my own scorekeeping. One thing I've learned is that it's always best spell out all assists and putouts in a DP sequence. Say if the same sequence of throws had happened last night but Valentin made a putout and 2nd then fired home for a 2nd putout. That could also be considered a 9-4-2 DP, but it's more informative to denote that particular play 9-4-4-2, because that way you know that Valentin got one put out and one assist, and Lo Duca got the 2nd put out. Last night's goes as 9-4-2-2 because both Green and Valentin get one assist, and both putouts are recorded by Lo Duca. Not all DPs are created equal, and it's best to include more information rather than less. Using 9-4-2-2 does NOT imply that the catcher ever lost control of the ball. It just clarifies that the catcher made both putouts.


2) Green and Valentin only get ONE assist each, because they were only involved in the first out. The second out was "unassisted" of sorts because Lo Duca already had the ball.

3) Dude, the food in the press box ain't free. But you already know that."