Sports News Without Fear, Favor or Compromise
Sports News Without Fear, Favor or Compromise

Here Are All The NBA Players Who Got Exactly One All-Star Starter Vote From Their Peers

Photo: Rich Pedroncelli/AP
Photo: Rich Pedroncelli/AP

The NBA is doing something slightly different with their all-star game this year, where the two top vote-getters from each conference will serve as captains and draft a team of their fellow starters. They won’t broadcast it, which defeats the purpose, but whatever, LeBron James and Steph Curry are the captains. They’re joined by Joel Embiid, DeMar DeRozan, Giannis Antetokounmpo, Kyrie Irving, Kevin Durant, James Harden, DeMarcus Cousins, and Anthony Davis. Votes from fans, media, and NBA players were weighed and used to calculate the winners.


The full voting breakdown can be found on the NBA’s website. The most interesting tidbit isn’t who won, it’s who didn’t. Here is a list of all the players who got exactly one all-star vote, sorted by their weighted total.

  • East Frontcourt: Cedi Osman, Domantas Sabonis, John Henson, Jabari Parker, Jarrett Allen, Michael Kidd-Gilchrist, Doug McDermott, Frank Kaminsky, Bismack Biyombo, Trevor Booker, Dwayne Bacon, Ike Anigbogu, Denzel Valentine, James Michael McAdoo, TJ Leaf, Semi Ojeleye, Taurean Prince, Amir Johnson, Lance Thomas, Marvin Williams, Anthony Tolliver, Tyler Cavanaugh, Johnny O’Bryant III, Eric Moreland
  • East Guards: Derrick Rose, JR Smith, Frank Ntilikina, Zach LaVine, Dennis Schroeder, Courtney Lee, Terry Rozier, Wayne Ellington, Tyler Johnson, Mario Hezonja, Luke Kennard, Langston Galloway, Cameron Payne, Sean Kilpatrick, Timothe Luwawu-Cabarrot, Derrick Jones Jr., Derrick Walton Jr.
  • West Frontcourt: David West, Julius Randle, Rudy Gobert, Kosta Koufos, Nemanja Bjelica, Paul Millsap, Willie Cauley-Stein, Josh Jackson, Omer Asik, Dragan Bender, Matt Costello, Damian Jones, Ivica Zubac, Trey Lyles, Gorgui Dieng, Darius Miller, Dwight Powell, Justin Jackson, Nerlens Noel, James Ennis III, Dakari Johnson, Willie Reed, Brice Johnson, JaKarr Sampson, Jack Cooley, Tyler Lydon, Brandan Wright
  • West Guards: Jordan Clarkson, Danny Green, Bogdan Bogdanovic, Seth Curry, De’Aaron Fox, Kentavious Caldwell-Pope, Gerald Green, Tyus Jones, Will Barton, Brandon Paul, Wes Matthews, George Hill, Briante Weber, Pat Connaughton, Daniel Hamilton, Emmanuel Mudiay, Aaron Brooks, Sindarius Thornwell, Wayne Selden

Come on man, Bogdan Bogdanovic definitely deserved more.

Staff writer, Deadspin