Sports News Without Access, Favor, Or Discretion

Before Greg Norman urinates away his chances of winning the British Open, let's give him some perspective. At least he signed his third round scorecard. The same can't be said of Michelle Wie at the LGPA tournament.

She was leading second after three two rounds at the State Farm Classic in Illinois, then she just plum forgot to sign her scorecard. Once she left the area, it was too late to go back and drop the signature on the dotted line. Them's the rules.


I understand that's the rule, and it's probably always been that way, but that seems ... harsh, doesn't it? It's almost like a bad dream where you go on an Easter egg hunt, then find all of the eggs including the golden one, then you leave for some reason and when you come back, inexplicably they're all gone. How exactly could one cheat on this rule? Reasonably speaking, one could finish a round of golf, sail around the world in a high-powered zeppelin, come back and sign the card. What advantage has the golfer gained by doing this?

At one time, you would get disqualified for signing a scorecard that had a worse score than what you actually had. I think they got rid of this rule, but it's way more logical that if you shot a 72, and you signed off on a 73, then bam, you just shot a 73.

So back to Wie. She's 18 and has won as many LGPA tournaments as I had when I was 18. Seeing what kind of golfer I turned out to be, this doesn't bode well for her.

Wie Fails to Sign Scorecard, Is Disqualified From Tournament [AP]

Share This Story

Get our newsletter