Sports News Without Fear, Favor or Compromise
Sports News Without Fear, Favor or Compromise

Josh Donaldson Wants You To Know: This Wasn’t A Catch

It was a pretty good night for Nick Pivetta. Despite giving up back-to-back homers to open last night’s game against the Dodgers, the pitcher with an ERA approaching 7 didn’t allow any more runs and ended up getting the win against Clayton Kershaw, thanks to an Aaron Altherr hit a grand slam in the bottom of the sixth.

Pivetta’s final pitch of the game in the top of the sixth was one for the highlight reels: Austin Barnes lined a pitch right at Pivetta, who managed to catch it in his jersey. Out number three.


There’s a problem, though: It probably shouldn’t have been an out. MLB’s official rules (PDF) state that players are not allowed to catch the ball with their hats, their jerseys, et cetera. If a fly ball manages to land in a player’s pants pocket, it’s not an out. Kinda lame, actually.

One man who doesn’t think it’s lame is Toronto Blue Jays third baseman Josh Donaldson. He actually commented on MLB’s Instagram post of the video.

Illustration for article titled Josh Donaldson Wants You To Know: This Wasn’t A Catch

He then posted the rule on his own Insta.


Per a strict interpretation of the rulebook: Pivetta should’ve had to throw the ball to first even though he took it out of his jersey with his hand, since he used his uniform to gain possession of the ball. The 2015 American League MVP does know a bit about baseball.

h/t Drew

Staff editor, Deadspin

Share This Story

Get our newsletter