This Was Not A Simultaneous Catch
From the NFL rulebook Article 3, Item 5:
Simultaneous Catch. If a pass is caught simultaneously by two eligible opponents, and both players retain it, the ball belongs to the passers. It is not a simultaneous catch if a player gains control first and an opponent subsequently gains joint control. If the ball is muffed after simultaneous touching by two such players, all the players of the passing team become eligible to catch the loose ball.
The only way Seattle could have won that game is if Golden Tate caught or simultaneously caught the football. Putting aside Tate's blatant offensive pass interference seconds before—or the bogus pass interference call to get Seattle in the red zone, or the phantom roughing the passer call that negated a Green Bay interception before that—M.D. Jennings pretty clearly caught the ball and Tate tried to wedge his arms in there—attempting to subsequently gain joint control, you might say. So that was clearly not a Seattle reception, simultaneous or otherwise.
Unfortunately for Green Bay, one official called it a touchback and another called it a touchdown. It was eventually ruled a touchdown and would be reviewed but there was no way it could be overruled. Seattle was given a touchdown and hopefully, finally, the League watched in horror as we have been all season.
Related
MLB Faces Potential Work Stoppage Amid Salary Cap Debate
NHL Best Future Betting Picks To Lock in Before December
- NBA Best Bets Today: Tuesday November 18th Top Basketball Picks
- Cowboys vs. Raiders Week 11 Monday Night Football Top Betting Picks, Predictions
- NCAA Hoops Predictions for Nov. 17: LSU-Tulane, Iowa State, Oregon Rivalry Picks
- Top 10 NFL Player Props for Week 11: Best Bets and Expert Picks
- Sunday November 16th Top NBA Betting Picks, Predictions
- Lions vs. Eagles Week 11 Sunday Night Football Top Betting Picks, Predictions
- Commanders vs. Dolphins Week 11 Spain Game Top Betting Picks, Predictions

