This Was Not A Simultaneous Catch
From the NFL rulebook Article 3, Item 5:
Simultaneous Catch. If a pass is caught simultaneously by two eligible opponents, and both players retain it, the ball belongs to the passers. It is not a simultaneous catch if a player gains control first and an opponent subsequently gains joint control. If the ball is muffed after simultaneous touching by two such players, all the players of the passing team become eligible to catch the loose ball.
The only way Seattle could have won that game is if Golden Tate caught or simultaneously caught the football. Putting aside Tate's blatant offensive pass interference seconds before—or the bogus pass interference call to get Seattle in the red zone, or the phantom roughing the passer call that negated a Green Bay interception before that—M.D. Jennings pretty clearly caught the ball and Tate tried to wedge his arms in there—attempting to subsequently gain joint control, you might say. So that was clearly not a Seattle reception, simultaneous or otherwise.
Unfortunately for Green Bay, one official called it a touchback and another called it a touchdown. It was eventually ruled a touchdown and would be reviewed but there was no way it could be overruled. Seattle was given a touchdown and hopefully, finally, the League watched in horror as we have been all season.
Related
Christmas Day NBA Betting Picks: Best Bets, Props, and More
Power Ranking Legitimate NFL Super Bowl LX Contenders
Best Landing Spots for Green Bay Packers Backup Malik Willis
- NBA Picks Tuesday Dec. 23rd: Best Bets for Bulls-Hawks, Nuggets-Mavs, Pistons-Kings
- NHL Picks Tuesday Dec. 23rd: Red Wings vs. Stars, Flyers vs. Blackhawks
- Monday College Basketball Best Bets: Top CBB Picks Before Christmas Break
- 49ers vs Colts Week 16 Monday Night Football Betting Picks
- Patriots vs Ravens Sunday Night Football Week 16 Betting Picks
- Best NFL Player Props for Week 16: Top Bets and Value Picks
- Commanders vs Eagles Week 16 Saturday Betting Pick

