Every once in awhile you see an indirect free kick—meaning a goal can only be scored if it touches one other player first—awarded only a few yards away from the goal. In this case, the referee judged that the Empoli goalkeeper picked the ball up after it was deliberately passed back to him by a teammate.
But it’s actually pretty difficult to score from an indirect free kick that close, and you don’t see them go in very often. Usually the ball just gets blasted towards the goal, where it hits one of the million defenders in the way and ricochets off somewhere harmless. Knowing this, Carlos Tevez instead takes the prudent approach, and roofs the damn thing.