Sports News Without Access, Favor, Or Discretion

J.T. Realmuto Got A Dinger Called Off For Passing Marcell Ozuna On The Basepath

Screencap via

The Miami Marlins are just cooling off after an unholy hot streak where they won 11 of 12 and hit some bombastic dongers. They kicked off their three-game series against the Brewers with a second-inning dinger from J.T. Realmuto, who sent one to the garish monstrosity in center field to give the Marlins a 2-0 lead.

Except Realmuto was only awarded a single and the Marlins only got one of the two runs they thought they’d earned, on account of Marcell Ozuna went back to first base for some reason and got passed by Realmuto.


This is a silly rule and I love it. It makes intuitive sense that once your home run ball first lands outside the park, you get the runs and the trot around the bases is mere pageantry. But baseball is wed to its formalities, and besides, the Marlins deserve this for putting that sculpture behind the center field fence.

Share This Story

About the author