Liverpool’s 2-1 victory over Bordeaux yesterday featured one of the stranger goals you’ll ever see.

After a failed Bordeaux attack in the first half, Liverpool keeper Simon Mignolet picked up the ball in his own box. He then held onto the ball ... and held onto the ball ... and held onto the ball, for a full 21 seconds. While FIFA rules say a keeper can only possess ball for six seconds, they’re usually given pretty wide latitude. But 21 seconds is absurd.

The referee finally blew his whistle, awarding Bordeaux an indirect free kick inside of Liverpool’s box, which they promptly scored from:

After the game, having seen his team come back from Mignolet’s catastrophic indecisiveness to win, manager Jürgen Klopp was in the mood to joke, laying down a nice double burn:

That’s cold-blooded.

Photo via Getty

Click here to view this kinja-labs.com embed.


E-mail: kevin.draper@deadspin.com | PGP key + fingerprint | DM: @kevinmdraper