The above play by Boston's Milan Lucic was ruled no goal on the ice, as the referees determined that Lucic kicked the puck into the back of the net. But upon video replay that ruling was overturned, as it was ruled there was no "distinct" kicking motion from Lucic. NHL rules say that a goal should be disallowed "when the puck has been kicked using a distinct kicking motion," but that deflections off of the skate are okay. The latter is apparently what happened here, at least according to the replay officials.

You can see a full video of the play, which has audio from NESN, below.


E-mail or gchat the author: kevin.draper@deadspin.com | PGP key + fingerprint