A 31-point, 18-rebound game from Kevin Love went to waste as the Warriors beat Cleveland 99-92 thanks in part to officials refusing to call a foul on Kevin Durant as the Golden State star manhandled LeBron James in the final minute of the game.
The Cowboys earned a first down tonight in a play so ridiculous it made the Steelers’ loss look positively pedestrian. The NFL uses computer chips in uniforms, pads, and the football itself—but the decision to award first downs still comes down to a technology so analogue it existed two hundred years before the…
Another frustrating NFL rule is starting to assert itself. After the Jets got screwed out of a touchdown last month, the “fumble at the pylon” ruling reared its head again on a run from the Bears’ Benny Cunningham.
And now, for the dumbest thing you will see today:
Raphael Dwamena’s match-winning goal with 15 seconds remaining in added time against Uganda came off the board as South African referee Daniel Bennett inexplicably ruled Dwamena to be offside, effectively eliminating Ghana from World Cup contention.
The Predators’ Colton Sissons scored just a minute into the second period of a 0-0 Stanley Cup Final Game 6, only for it to be declared no goal due to an early whistle from an official. Maybe Ted Leonsis is onto something?
Officials whistled Saint Mary’s Jordan Hunter for committing the foul of “being shoved in the back by an opponent.” It sealed a victory for Arizona, which moves on to face Xavier next week. The refs are really on a roll of excellence, folks.
Richard Jefferson dunked all over Kevin Durant during today’s big Warriors-Cavaliers game, and winked at the young man as he headed back up the court. That earned the 36-year-old a technical foul in today’s increasingly no-fun NBA.
Odell Beckham Jr.’s known for his amazing catches, but nothing he’s accomplished matches the mind-blowing “catch” he made early in today’s Lions-Giants game. Despite being in clear view of an official, OBJ’s drop was declared a catch—and with no challenge flag thrown, the play stands as called.
Michigan State claimed its second win of the year after the 13th-ranked Spartans beat Florida Gulf Coast thanks in part to a clock blunder on the game’s final play that officials decided to let stand.
An offside Laurent Koscielny knocked the ball into goal with his arms in the match’s final seconds to give Arsenal a 1-0 win at Burnley today in a heroic and successful attempt to keep the Gunners in third place in the Premiership.
The Mid-American Conference has suspended the officiating crew that botched what should have been the final play of Saturday’s Central Michigan-Oklahoma State game, giving the Chippewas a final, untimed down on which they scored a spectacular game-winning touchdown.
The Cleveland Indians had the bases loaded in the bottom of the third inning against the Astros earlier today when Lonnie Chisenhall fouled off a ball that first bounced in front of the plate.
This is so obviously an own goal it almost hurts to watch, but neither an always-attentive MLS referee nor any of his assistants were able to notice the ball traveled well past the line. Great job, everybody.
Peru earned their first in-competition win over Brazil since 1975 thanks to an incredibly obvious handball that interrupted the game for several minutes and appeared to leave the referee in a state of catatonic confusion.
Dominika Cibulkova knocked Caroline Wozniacki out of the St. Petersburg WTA tournament yesterday in a match that featured one of the most baffling decisions made by a chair umpire we’ve seen in a long time.
Last night, Boise State looked to have beaten Colorado State University on an incredible shot by James Webb III with just 0.8 seconds left to play. Pretty amazing shot, right? It looks even better in slow motion:
Greg Huegel’s 44-yard field goal attempt fell short after Clemson found themselves without a chance to run an additional play when officials allowed several seconds to run off the clock after a first down late in the first half of tonight’s national championship.
In a finish only former CONCACAF president and disgraced ex-FIFA official Jack Warner could love, Mexico defeated Costa Rica in tonight’s Gold Cup quarterfinal on a ludicrous penalty called in the 122nd minute.
Blind umpire Paul Emmel blew what should have been the final pitch of the Padres’ eighth tonight when he declared the above play to be a foul tip off Derek Norris’s bat. Pirates pitcher A.J. Burnett was, as you might imagine, unhappy.