What you are looking at here is Max Kepler of the Minnesota Twins fouling a pitch off not one but two of his legs. That is, by rule and interpretation of the MLB rulebook, a foul ball. Kepler was called out, 1-3, and the inning was ended.
Raphael Dwamena’s match-winning goal with 15 seconds remaining in added time against Uganda came off the board as South African referee Daniel Bennett inexplicably ruled Dwamena to be offside, effectively eliminating Ghana from World Cup contention.
Rays centerfielder Kevin Kiermaier’s defense has such a strong reputation that when he misplayed this fly ball in the first inning of Tampa Bay’s game Tuesday against the White Sox, umpires decided the ball must have struck one of Tropicana Field’s rings—and awarded batter Yolmer Sanchez a home run.
Officials allowed Gonzaga to get away with a clear basket interference amidst a late, improbable Northwestern comeback—and when Chris Collins registered his dismay with the blown call, assessed the Wildcats head coach with a technical foul.
Officials whistled WVU’s Elijah Macon for a foul on this play; all three refs were looking directly at the play—in which two Texas players foul each other, and no Mountaineers are to blame for anything—and they still screwed it up. Big 12 officials seem as good at their jobs as Texas’s basketball and football teams…
Odell Beckham Jr.’s known for his amazing catches, but nothing he’s accomplished matches the mind-blowing “catch” he made early in today’s Lions-Giants game. Despite being in clear view of an official, OBJ’s drop was declared a catch—and with no challenge flag thrown, the play stands as called.
An offside Laurent Koscielny knocked the ball into goal with his arms in the match’s final seconds to give Arsenal a 1-0 win at Burnley today in a heroic and successful attempt to keep the Gunners in third place in the Premiership.
Two missed calls by the officials allowed Ole Miss to take a three-touchdown lead on Alabama on a play that featured a missed targeting call and an improperly applied unnecessary roughness call.
This is so obviously an own goal it almost hurts to watch, but neither an always-attentive MLS referee nor any of his assistants were able to notice the ball traveled well past the line. Great job, everybody.
Peru earned their first in-competition win over Brazil since 1975 thanks to an incredibly obvious handball that interrupted the game for several minutes and appeared to leave the referee in a state of catatonic confusion.
Refs blew it twice in one play tonight as Maryland’s Jake Layman wasn’t whistled for a double dribble on his first-half dunk against Kansas, but earned a technical foul for hanging on the rim. There’s a good reason Layman didn’t immediately let go after the straight-on two-handed dunk, and the technical foul is…
Dominika Cibulkova knocked Caroline Wozniacki out of the St. Petersburg WTA tournament yesterday in a match that featured one of the most baffling decisions made by a chair umpire we’ve seen in a long time.
Mountain West officials waved off James Webb’s would-be buzzer-beater because their replay technology counted time at double speed, a video released today by the conference reveals.
In case you were wondering, there are people who actually wager on WNBA games. And some of those people were likely paying very close attention to the final minutes of last night’s Chicago Sky vs. Atlanta Dream game, because referees awarded Chicago’s Elena Delle Donne a basket that did not even come close to going in.
Tampa Bay took a 1-0 lead in their Stanley Cup playoff series against Montreal when the Lightning’s Nikita Kucherov found the net two minutes into the second overtime period at Bell Centre for a 2-1 final score. But Habs fans are rightfully making noise about the fact Tampa Bay was clearly offside when bringing the…
Yesterday, NCAA head of basketball officiating John Adams went on the radio and explained why officials failed to overturn an incorrect blown out-of-bounds call late during the NCAA title game: they never saw the crucial replay that showed a Duke player touching the ball last. But today Adams was contradicted by NCAA…
To most of America, it sure as hell looked like the Wisconsin Badgers got hosed by a blown out-of-bounds call in the final minutes of last night’s championship game. It was hard to imagine how the referees could have looked at the same replay angle that we all saw at home during their review and still awarded…
Matt Stafford was mic'd up during last Sunday's playoff game against the Cowboys, and his reaction to the reversed pass interference call that helped bone the Lions out of a win aired on last night's episode of Inside the NFL. As you might imagine, Stafford was just as confused and exasperated by the reversal as the…
Kyle Allen's attempt to lead the Aggies to a Thanksgiving Night comeback against LSU ended when he threw an interception on what should have been a free play due to the Tigers committing offside—and SEC officials missing the call.