American Jared Donaldson all but stamped his foot while screeching at the chair umpire about a serve that was called in during the second set of his first-round Monte Carlo match against Albert Ramos-Viñolas.
Donaldson was down a set and a break at 0-40 when Ramos-Viñolas appeared to serve an ace out wide for the game. Donaldson was sure it was out.
The voice rising to a petulant yell on the word “here” is amazing, but what Donaldson said to the umpire in the four minute-long sulk that ensued is even more temper-tantrum gold. After Donaldson was assessed a code violation, he continued to rage at the chair umpire and the supervisor, who was called out to resolve the issue.
JD: For what? Because I challenged a mark? Because I challenged a mark, that’s why I get given one for unsportsmanlike conduct.
Umpire: For being aggressive with me.
JD: [Laughs] Sorry I hurt your feelings. Oh sorry, I apologize. He can call unsportsmanlike conduct for whatever?
Though tennis has long had Hawk-Eye technology to determine whether a ball is in or out—even on clay it’s accurate to a millimeter, the New York Times wrote last year—clay-surface tournaments usually rely on umpires eyeing the usually clear marks left by a ball. From the Times:
As reassuring as those marks in the clay appear, they do not always tell the whole story. That is because the mark depends not only on where the ball lands but also on the condition of the clay where it lands.
“If it’s dry and windy and blown away on top, it’s going to leave a smaller mark than the actual landing of the ball,” said Gayle David Bradshaw, the executive vice president for rules and competition at the ATP. “And then if there’s some extra clay, the explosion makes the mark larger than what the actual contact of the ball was.”
That raises one of the more persuasive points in favor of the status quo. Using Hawk-Eye on clay might be more accurate, but it could make for plenty of awkward moments when the mark and the electronic ruling are not in accord.
Anyhow, Hawkeye was actually installed on the court for added entertainment value for TV broadcasts and it indicated the serve was out. Awkward!
Ramos-Viñolas won 6-3, 6-3.
Update (1:35 p.m. ET): The Twitter video of the encounter has been swapped out for video of the full incident.