Sports News Without Access, Favor, Or Discretion

Baylor Has Touchdown Called Back, Then Restored, On Targeting Foul

The second offensive targeting ejection of the day came on a massive play for Baylor, locked into a tough fight in Morgantown. This call negated a Bears touchdown and resulted in the ejection of Baylor's Corey Coleman—but after video review, the hit was declared legal and the touchdown put back on the board.


This is the benefit of the NCAA's tweak to its targeting rules, which for the first time allows referees to pick up a flag after reviewing the call on video. Last year, the ejection could have been reversed, but the penalty—and the declaration of no touchdown—would have remained.


Share This Story