The Hall just announced that McCarver is the winner of the 2012 Ford C. Frick Award, which has previously gone to such notable voices as Mel Allen, Ernie Harwell, Vin Scully, Bob Prince, Jack Buck, Harry Caray, and Harry Kalas. McCarver is likely the only one in that club who thinks "strike" is a five-letter word. [Baseball Hall of Fame]