Sports News Without Access, Favor, Or Discretion

Ian Poulter Endured Silly Rules Drama This Morning At The PGA Championship

Image via screengrab

Ian Poulter found himself bickering angrily with tour officials on the par-four eighth hole this morning at the PGA Championship, after rocketing his tee shot into the woods to the right of the fairway.

Poulter’s shot pretty clearly landed fairly deep in the woods beyond the red stakes that mark a hazard. If his ball was determined to have entered the hazard, he would be penalized a stroke and take a drop. But the officials on hand initially determined that, because his ball could not be located in the hazard within the allotted five minutes, it would be declared lost, and Poulter would have to take a second tee shot. Poulter wasn’t real happy!


The drama ended happily—someone eventually found the ball (although well after the five minutes lapsed), and the officials unclenched their asses and allowed the drop. Poulter recovered to make a pretty damn impressive bogey, all things considered.

Share This Story

Get our newsletter

About the author