Sports News Without Access, Favor, Or Discretion
Image via screengrab/

Yesterday, during the third round at TPC Boston, Sergio Garcia lined up an eagle putt on the par-four fourth hole, and just blew it. His putt wound up a good 13 feet from the hole, far enough away that Garcia was really, really pissed. So pissed, in fact, that he smashed the absolute bejeezus out of his putter, slamming it into a sprinkler head cover so bad that he actually altered the club.


Well. PGA rules being what they are, Garcia’s putter was now considered out of play, meaning he would not be able to use it again for the remaining 14 holes of the round. What is a man to do when he is left without a putter? Well, he is to compose himself, pull a 3-wood out of his bag, and sink the goddamn birdie putt:

Garcia’s improvisational magic didn’t last long—he bogeyed four of the next five holes while trying out a variety of woods and irons on the greens, and ultimately went plus-5 over the rest of the round to finish with a 75. Still! Pretty clutch!

Staff Writer, Deadspin

Share This Story

Get our newsletter