Just before Dan Bailey kicked a 39-yard field goal in overtime to lift the Cowboys past the Redskins, Tony Romo tried to call a timeout. Problem was, the Cowboys had none left—though Romo didn't know it—which ordinarily would have resulted in a 15-yard penalty. Except that, at the same time, Redskins coach Mike Shanahan signaled for a timeout to ice Bailey, which was granted.
Romo had no idea teams get just two timeouts during overtime, which Dallas had already used. From the Dallas Morning News:
"I think we were out of timeouts,'' Romo said. "I noticed that after the fact. And I guess you get two timeouts in overtime, not three.
"The clock was running down there. I was trying to stop it there with one second but they helped us out.''
UPDATE: Turns out the officials, by rule, would have avoided Romo's request. The worst that would have happened was a five-yard penalty for delay of game had Romo let the play clock expire. But his attempt to call a timeout, in and of itself, would not have been a penalty. [@MikePereira]
Tony Romo Almost Had Chris Webber Moment in Overtime [Larry Brown Sports]
Mike Shanahan saved the Cowboys from a 15-yard penalty in OT [Shutdown Corner]
[Photo via AP]