Just about an hour ago, a Twitter handle @NBAOfficials went live, with a single Tweet: an explanation of why Dwyane Wade's gamewinning jump-stop-pivot jumper with 2.9 seconds left was right not to be whistled for a travel. The Tweet was a response to Hardwood Paroxysm's Rob Mahoney and ESPN's Tom Haberstroh, both of whom argued that the jump stop counted as a second step and should have been called.
The Tweet linked to a brief but clear explanation of the rule in play (essentially, the jump stop counted as the first step), and a video titled "Wade Winner Legal." We're all for antagonizing the country by defending calls in the Heat's favor, but we're even more for the transparency. Brendan Shanahan's explanatory videos on suspendable hits are the best thing the NHL has done in years, and we'd love to see a more accessible, more open NBA officiating department. Here's hoping the Wade apologia sets a precedent for the season.