Minutes after Barcelona scored to tie the aggregate at 1-1, Chelsea captain John Terry was sent off for one of the dumbest stunts seen in the Champions League in years: kneeing Barça striker Alexis Sánchez in the back.

The apparently-unprovoked act was reminiscent of this weekend's Metta World Peace elbow scandal—just swap one hinge joint for the other.

While the referee missed the incident, he was alerted to it by his assistant referee and Terry was quickly sent off. It wasn't much later that Andres Iniesta took advantage of Chelsea being a man down and found the net off a pass from Lionel Messi to give Barça a clear path to the final. [Fox Soccer]

Update: Before this post went live, Ramires scored an extraordinary goal to give Chelsea the advantage on the away-goal tiebreaker. Consider this post your open thread.