Brooks Koepka doesn't return after smashing tee marker at LIV Golf event

Field Level MediaField Level Media|published: Sat 28th June, 17:27 2025
PGA: U.S. Open - Final RoundJun 15, 2025; Oakmont, Pennsylvania, USA; Brooks Koepka plays his shot from the first tee during the final round of the U.S. Open golf tournament. Mandatory Credit: Charles LeClaire-Imagn Images

After a meltdown and withdrawal in the first round, Brooks Koepka has not returned to LIV Golf Dallas in Carrolton, Texas, on Saturday.

The five-time major winner posted a birdie on his opening hole Friday before things went swiftly downhill with a triple-bogey on both the par-4 4th and the par-5 7th. After eight holes, he was already six-over-par.

After hitting a tee shot on the par-4 9th, Koepka hammered the tee marker towards the crowd in a show of apparent frustration. He posted a bogey on the 9th then withdrew, citing illness.


There were no reports of injuries in the crowd.

Koepka could have returned to play this weekend, though per LIV rules, his scores would have counted only towards the team standings.

Koepka was replaced by reserve player Luis Carrera for the remainder of the first round.

--Field Level Media

ad banner
home brooks-koepka-doesnt-return-after-smashing-tee-marker-at-liv-golf-event