Sports News Without Access, Favor, Or Discretion

Clayton Kershaw And Corey Kluber Are Your Cy Young Winners

Major League Baseball announced the 2014 Cy Young winners tonight. One of the winners was a foregone conclusion, but the other was a bit of a surprise.


The no-doubter was Clayton Kershaw, who won his third award in four years, and took his second straight picture celebrating with his bros. Kershaw won all 30 first place votes unanimously, reflecting his utter dominance over the rest National League. He had the most wins, most complete games, highest K/BB, highest K/9, lowest ERA, lowest WHIP, and probably led in every other statistical category too. The playoffs didn't go as well for Kershaw though, where he got lit up in two straight seventh innings as the Dodgers got bounced in the NLDS.

The AL winner was the Cleveland Indians's Corey Kluber, playing in only his second full season. Kluber's year, especially the phenomenal second half, was almost enough to drag the Indians to the playoffs, as they fell just a few games short of the Wild Card play-in game. Kluber's win over Felix Hernandez—he claimed 17 first place votes while Hernandez got the other 13—was a bit surprising, as many predicted King Felix would win. But as FanGraphs wrote earlier today, it wasn't really possible to make a wrong, or a right, choice between Kluber and Hernandez. They were the two best pitchers in the AL this year, and the very close voting reflected that.

Photo via Brian Kersey/Getty

Share This Story

Get our newsletter