Sports News Without Access, Favor, Or Discretion

John Carroll Ends Mount Union's Championship Streak

Photo credit: Michael Shroyer/Associated Press

For the first time in 25 years, the Ohio Athletic Conference has a champion other than Mount Union as the Purple Raiders fell today 31-28 to John Carroll, giving the Blue Streaks only their second league title in history.

It’s also Mount Union’s first regular season loss in 11 years—a streak of 112 games. They racked up 12 Division III national championships during the 24-year conference title run.


Share This Story

About the author

Timothy Burke

Timothy Burke is formerly Deadspin's Video Director.

PGP Fingerprint: CDD8 B3DD 3565 1540 B1F9 4D63 D2B5 398E 0CAF 2F9CPGP Key
OTR Fingerprint: 69085D53 4F369233 EA007F99 B4926AAD 8C458956