The Western New York Flash defeated the Washington Spirit in a shootout to win the NWSL title. The Spirit took the lead early into extra time, with Crystal Dunn scoring in the 92nd minute, her second of the night. But Western New York’s Lynn Williams headed in a Jessica McDonald cross four minutes into stoppage time, and keeper Sabrina D’Angelo made three saves during the subsequent shootout to win the title.

D’Angelo was named the NWSL Championship MVP.