Sports News Without Access, Favor, Or Discretion

Uruguay Just Conceded A Semi-Maybe-Own Goal To Italy

Italy is taking on Uruguay in the Confederations Cup third-place match, and so far, the first half has been absolutely hectic. Both sides are getting forward with some of the world's best strikers running at tired defenders, and there have been plenty of chances. So it's strange that the first goal came on an absolute fluke.

Italian Alessandro Diamanti swung in a free kick from the right side of the box that looked to be overhit. Goalkeeper Fernando Muslera misjudged the flight of the ball, which dipped over his arms and then clanged against the far upright. The ball then bounced back, ricocheted off Muslera's back, then appeared to cross the goal line before Davide Astori cleaned up the mess.


FIFA awarded the goal to Diamanti, since for some reason, balls that deflect off defenders into the goal after hitting the post aren't counted as own goals. But that was an own goal.

Italy's up 1-0 at half.

UPDATE: Davide Astori has been awarded the goal.

Share This Story